COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Blu-ray)
$37.99
Last Action Hero (Blu-ray)
$5.19
The Swimmer (Blu-ray)
$17.29
Jaws (Blu-ray)
$7.99
Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Mr. Peabody & Sherman (Blu-ray)
$22.99
Freezing: Anime Classics Season 1 (Blu-ray)
$22.99
Oldboy (Blu-ray)
$12.98
Cannibal Holocaust (Blu-ray)
$25.78
House of Cards: The Complete Second Season (Blu-ray)
$29.99
The Legend of Billie Jean (Blu-ray)
$5.19
Batman: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$189.99
Sleepaway Camp (Blu-ray)
$18.99
The Party (Blu-ray)
$17.49
On the Beach (Blu-ray)
$17.49
Sorcerer (Blu-ray)
$19.59
God's Not Dead (Blu-ray)
$17.29
Breakheart Pass (Blu-ray)
$17.49
Lake Placid (Blu-ray)
$18.99


Jack Reacher


2012 | 130 min | PG-13 | 2.39:1

Jack Reacher

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
7.3
439
ratings.


User reviews


7 user reviews

Movie appeal

 
Action100%
Thriller49%
Crime21%
Mystery2%
Drama-
67
fans

4213
Blu-ray
collections
29
DVD
collections
273
UV
collections
78
iTunes
collections
4
AIV
collections

Theatrical release date


 21 December, 2012
 26 December, 2012

Country of origin


 United States

Box office


 $80,070,736
 $218,340,595

Links


                 

Overview Preview Cast & crew Screenshots User reviews News Forum

Jack Reacher

 (2012)

Screenshots from Jack Reacher Blu-ray

User reviews



Dazed+Confused
  Dec 21, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
Surprisingly it was a very good movie. Not really a Cruise fan but he is good in this film. Regardless, the plot and action
alone carry the film. Perfect mix of action, suspense, and even a little bit of humor as a result of some well placed lines.
Definitely worth seeing.
ORFF
  Dec 22, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
Having not read any of the Lee Child books, I watched this movie with fresh eyes. For those of you expecting something fun and over the top like Red or Knight and Day, this is not that kind of movie. That said, it is fun. This movie takes you on a journey with the characters trying to solve the mystery with more realistic action and scenarios than have been in most recent movies. It is more like an old-school cop movie like Bullitt or Dirty Harry. I really enjoyed this movie. My favorite part was the car chase. It was so refreshing to see a chase put together this way. The surround sound was amazing and put you right in the action. The movie had great acting, believable but awesome action scenes, and a well thought out plot. It also wasn't too predictable. I would say it was a good show all around. If you like movies that are awesome, watch this. Now, a note on content: This movie deserved the PG-13 rating it received. There was a little bit of swearing, including the token PG-13 "F-word." Also, if any of you are nervous about that part in the preview where you see that scantily clad woman, that is literally all you see. The bulk of the rating was for the violence, which this movie has in abundance. You see some innocent people killed, also there's some awesome hand to hand fights. Some of the killing\deaths were disturbing for my wife. Great movie overall, I was pleasantly surprised.

Zeiram
  Dec 24, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
10 / 10
Jack Reacher is one heck of a movie. Truly the action/thriller equivalent to a nostalgic Thanksgiving dinner with family
and friends (sorry, if you've not experienced that; there's always time). Time is something that Jack Reacher spends
very well. The film is nuanced enough to be engaging but doesn't allow itself to be bombarded with tired action movie
histrionics. What a perfect way to end 2012.

Tom Cruise is more than up to the task playing a man who has more or less seen it all, and doesn't want to engage in
any kind of petty verbal dancing populating most humdrum action/genre pictures. At 50 Cruise can still kick butt and
look confident doing it, even though he is a bit slighter in stature than his action legend counterparts like Stalllone,
Arnold and Clint. Cruise has never been in this category as an actor. What he has been for the last 3 to 4 decades is a
reliable piece of cinema Americana, showing some real resolve and acting chops to rival the greatest of stars. Regardless
of how you feel about the man outside the silver screen, there's no denying that Tom Cruise is a bona-fide movie star.

If the movies of today have been over-saturated with quick editing, over-processed post prod and stilted acting with
meaningless pyrotechnics, Jack Reacher is the antidote to all those modern action films you hate. The film takes its time
and allows each scene to breath. It is as much police procedural as adventure picture, yet it lingers on neither of those
and showcases good characters and solid pacing. The editing is sparse and the action is plausible and clear cut. This is an
enjoyable picture that has a nice flow. In a word, it is refreshing.

Jack Reacher plays like all the great things you wanted to see in crime thrillers but the movie's writing and energy had
the audacity to cut out all the 'fluff'; simply leaving us with the bare essentials of escapism. There's a great cast to boot
that provides enough energy to bounce off Cruise whilst not detracting from the core story. Bond girl beauty Rosemund
Pike makes for an exceptional counterpart, the two leads have good chemistry and its nice to see a smart character
bouncing off Jack Reacher's no-nonsense intelligence and wit. Robert Duvall stars in a small but crucial role as a burnt
out marksman who helps Reacher when he least expects it.

Regardless of its potential polarizing nature for being too-generic or familiar; this is Hollywood classic action film making
at its finest. With cutthroat characters that hardly pass for action caricatures. The film is not earth shattering but it is
life-affirming and entertaining. Ensuring to us that not all hope is lost when it comes to simple, laid back narrative and
fun.

Jack Reacher breaths life into the moments, and it does it well enough that we forget where we are for the time being
and just soak it in. It is timely enough to be poignant about its subjects yet it holds us at bay so as not to engage us into
melodramatics. The script is as tight as anyone asked for and Christopher McQuarrie's direction is proficient and spot on.
Honestly, what more could we ask for in an American movie.

Some more cleavage from Rosemund Pike would be welcome.

Steve46
  Dec 29, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
Director Christopher McQuarrie won an Oscar for his screenplay on The Usual Suspects, and he also wrote the screenplay for Jack Reacher. If you have seen the trailer, you might think that the movie is a pure adrenalin rush in the same vein as Taken, but that's not exactly correct. There is plenty of action, but McQuarrie also gives his characters time to breathe, and we learn a little about the backgrounds of most of the major players.

The movie begins with someone shooting five apparently random strangers from long range with a rifle. This is shown in close-up. In fact, this movie has more close-ups than any I have ever seen. It includes facial shots, point-of-view shots, and objects. The camera angles are also interesting. Perhaps the intention was to place us right among the action?

A man is arrested for the shooting and asks for Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise). Unfortunately, Reacher is something of a mystery and nobody knows how to contact him. When he does eventually appear, it's on his terms. We learn that he was an investigator of sorts while in the army, and he's enlisted by Helen (Rosamund Pike), who is the lawyer representing the accused man. Reacher isn't sure he's even guilty.

I don't think that I should give away many more plot points, so I'll talk more generally about what you can expect. But I will say that the story is fairly predictable.

I'm not a big fan of Tom Cruise, but I think this is one of his best performances and I would put it up there with Collateral. At 50 years of age, he's still a convincing action star, and I believed that he had the skills to do what he does in the movie. McQuarrie also keeps some of the action scenes realistic and things don't always work out perfectly for the hero.

You'll see Reacher investigating the crime, and we are shown how some of his realizations come to pass. There's an enjoyable cameo from Robert Duvall, and nobody gives a truly bad performance in the entire movie.

Action fans will enjoy a few fight scenes, a car chase, and a big shootout, but there's a story present at all times. This isn't a movie without substance. Reacher is the only character who is given much to do. At times it seems as though everyone else is standing around waiting to see what happens.

Jack Reacher won't blow you away, but it's better than the standard genre offerings. I could easily see it spawning a sequel, and I would probably go and see it.

Banditphd001
  Jan 03, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
I really enjoyed this movie. Cruise was awesome, it felt like a good throwback flick. I hope it does well enough to keep Jack Reacher going.

bmwracer
  Dec 28, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
Having not read any of Lee Child's books, I walked into the theater open-minded and walked out very entertained.

The opening scene is quite chilling, given the recent real-life events in Connecticut, and it really draws you into the plot. Speaking of the plot, I thought it was quite suspenseful and the dialog was snappy and humorous at times.

As expected, Cruise pulls off the action sequences aplomb: they're physical, raw, and brutal, much like those from the Bourne series. And like the Jason Bourne character, Jack Reacher is all business, smart, and off the grid.

And there's good chemistry between Cruise's and Rosamund Pike's characters: There's several scenes of underlying sexual tension between the two which really spice up the film.

Those Tom Cruise haters and/or those who can't get over Cruise's physical stature in relation to the character in Lee Child's book are missing out on one very good movie.

Highly recommended... And looking forward to a sequel (or two).

simonynwa
  Jul 20, 2014
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
6 / 10
Entertaining but ultimately fairly generic detective thriller. After a fairly intense and intriguing opening to the film, there is very little that this film offers that is in any way original or refreshing but it is well made and another vehicle for Cruise to dominate. Here the main draw is the character of Jack Reacher, and Cruise is always watchable in roles like this, but on the evidence of this film, Reacher is essentially a cross between Dirty Harry and Martin Riggs and a more intriguing backstory is only hinted. Perhaps a sequel will have a stronger focus on the title character, but when the film itself is named after the main character, it is only fair to expect a stronger focus on the character himself.


Post a review



Please login to post a review.


The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Blu-ray)
Gold Box Deal of the Day
Today only: $37.99

Buy Now


 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. The Legend of Billie Jean
2. Insomnia
3. Scanners
4. Sabotage
5. The Essential Jacques Demy
6. Batman: The Complete Series
7. Transcendence
8. Maleficent
9. Under the Skin
10. The Wolf of Wall Street
11. Hercules 3D
12. Jaws
13. Hercules
14. Heaven Is for Real
15. A Hard Day's Night

Trending in Theaters
1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
2. Lucy
3. Hercules
4. The LEGO Movie
5. Sabotage
6. Under the Skin
7. Noah
8. Godzilla
9. X-Men: Days of Future Past
10. The Purge: Anarchy
11. Maleficent
12. 300: Rise of an Empire
13. Transcendence
14. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
15. Transformers: Age of Extinction

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  Divergent
2.  Noah
3.  Batman: The Complete Series
4.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
5.  The LEGO Movie
6.  Heaven Is for Real
7.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
8.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
9.  Godzilla 3D
10.  Frozen
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Divergent
2.  Noah
3.  Batman: The Complete Series
4.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
5.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
6.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
7.  Godzilla 3D
8.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
9.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
10.  The Other Woman
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
2.  Noah
$17.99, Save 55%
3.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
4.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
5.  Jaws
$7.99, Save 60%
6.  Rio 2 3D
$22.99, Save 54%
7.  The Wolf of Wall Street
$11.99, Save 56%
8.  The Other Woman
$19.99, Save 50%
9.  The Legend of Billie Jean
$5.19, Save 48%
10.  Les MisÚrables
$8.99, Save 61%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy

 United States


$119.98 $37.99





Last Action Hero

 United States


$9.98 $5.19





The Swimmer

 United States


$29.95 $17.29





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices