COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled (Blu-ray)
$129.99
The Dark Knight Trilogy (Blu-ray)
$38.99
God's Not Dead (Blu-ray)
$17.29
The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Batman: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$189.99
The Big Chill (Blu-ray)
$27.59
Man of Steel Limited Collector's Edition (Blu-ray)
$24.99
Los Angeles Kings: 2014 Stanley Cup Champions (Blu-ray)
$18.99
Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figure Gift Set (Blu-ray)
$14.99
24: Live Another Day (Blu-ray)
$39.99
Mr. Peabody & Sherman 3D (Blu-ray)
$30.98
My Week with Marilyn (Blu-ray)
$5.00
Love Lab: Complete Collection (Blu-ray)
$37.28
Nymphomaniac: Volumes I and II (Blu-ray)
$17.99
Last Action Hero (Blu-ray)
$7.98
X-Men and the Wolverine Collection (Blu-ray)
$29.99
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Blu-ray)
$99.99
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Blu-ray)
$11.99
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (Blu-ray)
$22.99


Les Misérables


2012 | 158 min | PG-13 | 1.85:1

Les Misérables

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
7.5
370
ratings.


User reviews


9 user reviews

Movie appeal

 
Musical100%
Romance94%
Period88%
Melodrama38%
Drama26%
74
fans

4142
Blu-ray
collections
46
DVD
collections
259
UV
collections
86
iTunes
collections
14
AIV
collections

Theatrical release date


 25 December, 2012
 11 January, 2013

Country of origin


 United Kingdom

Technical aspects


IMAX, 158 minutes

Box office


 $148,809,770
 $441,809,770

Links


                 

Overview Preview Cast & crew Screenshots User reviews News Forum

Les Misérables

 (2012)

Screenshots from Les Misérables Blu-ray

User reviews


kildrgn
  Dec 25, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
Sets are amazing, acting is amazing, sound is amazing. However if you have not read or seen the previous versions of this story, you will be lost. All in all a great film for fans of Les Mis, but new comers beware.

JERBOX5150
  Jan 01, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
Let's be honest...if you have never heard of LES MISERABLES, I don't understand what would be the motivation to see the film in the first place. Unless you have been living under a rock or completely oblivious to theatre... then you are not familiar with the one the greatest contemporary musicals produced on stage within the last 30 years!

With that said, anyone who feels that a film set in Paris (repelboarders) needs to be a showpiece reflecting the splendor of the City of Lights would be grossly missing the point of what the original book and its theatre adaptation was all about to begin with. If you are going to write a review, do you even know what you are writing about? (HINT: do you know what the title means??? THE MISERABLES! Yeah, it's gonna be a tear- jerker!)

With that bit of business put aside, the film is a wonderful Christmas gift that was surely opened as the last big present of 2012! I have been a huge fan of the musical for over 30 years and I rightfully placed high expectations to what I wanted to see the film adaptation to reveal! It did not let me down! Director Tom Hooper was the best choice to really go into the gut- wrenching portrayals of the characters and was never afraid to show all the necessary sides: good or bad, right or wrong. Based on the works of the mini- series JOHN ADAMS, which Hooper also directed, the feeling of realism throughout the production assisted with the presentation. You see it all! The "lovely ladies" aren't so lovely afterall... slightly beaten and worn out, make-up badly applied and even cold sores to help really bring the ladies of the night to life. That's just a small example.

Anne Hathaway clearly takes the award for best scene- stealer as the viewer cannot help themselves from being completely taken by her performance as a single mother who would literally do anything to protect her young daughter from the evils of the streets. As previously mentioned, Hugh Jackman, too, is perfectly casted as Jean Valjean... a man who did nine years in prison for a minor crime and turns those years as hate and revenge towards the world, yet, an act of kindness can change a man.

A message of "pay it forward" is underlined all of the filth and tears within the film...not to mention a spectacular soundtrack filled with memorable music and performances.

This is, by far, the type of film that needs to be enjoyed in the best available presentation within your local movie houses!

kitfisto92
  Nov 29, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
As an ensemble, the cast brings the material to life in all-around incredibly engaging and emotional performances. Tom Hooper's choices, in terms of cinematography and mise-en-scene, are what makes the film stand out amongst the competition. Specifically, his choice to film most of the songs close-up in one take adds a surprising layer of emotional depth that could potentially have been lost with multiple cuts and different framing. Hooper mentioned after the screening that he would not have made the film without the existence of Hugh Jackman, and it shows. Big time. Jackman arguably brings a career-best performance to the screen as Jean Valjean.

mgmoz
  Dec 22, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
Exceptional!
This filmed version went places that the stage show could not physically take you visually.
So many highlights, too many to mention here...go & see it for yourself. Watch out for "Empty Chairs, Empty Tables", Eddie Redmayne absolutely floored me! That's not to take it away from all the cast. Stunning all round!
Look out for Colm Wilkinson...a nice touch! Well done to all involved.

MEB
  Dec 24, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
I was fascinated with this glorious musical. Highly entertaining and beautifully sung and choreographed! I gave it 8 out 10 but only because I looked at my watch (it ran a bit long), plus Russell Crowe's singing voice is just a bit weak compared to the others in the cast.
WileyWyler
  Dec 25, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
2 / 10
A singularly miserable piece of cinema. While the craftsmanship can be admired on a macro level, the overall effect of the film is one of over-earnestness. Partially to blame is the alleged music and inane lyrics of the original "musical." But the lack of providing clear, strong, and character based motivations, or even simple understanding of the context within each scene occurs renders this less a cinematic experience than a pageant of mediocre singers singing mediocre songs.

The fact that the camera NEVER stops moving isn't enough to fool the audience. This is one mess of a movie.
repelboarders
  Dec 27, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
1 / 10
1/10
Never was I so happy to see a musical and a revolution come to an end. A movie is more than an endless series of close-ups of people singing and weeping for over 2 hours. To have a story set in Paris and never see much of the city except as an out of focus and barely noticeable backdrop is appalling. To have Hugh Jackman on the run for so long and never know exactly where he is in time and space diminished the overall conflict between he and Russell Crowe and reduced the musical to overwrought earnestness. The movie hit its weepy, sorrow- stride from the get-go and never let up, thrusting the viewer to within inches of every actors face, every pore, every ounce of dirt, grime and tears and with cameras that never stopped moving. Ever! Save it for Blu-ray release when you can watch it from a distance and not feel like every actor and song were in your face trying to make you feel something you could have felt with half the effort. Do the French actually cry as much as they do in this movie? When every character, including Russell Crowe, ends up with tears welling, gushing and streaming, it's not time to get out the hanker chiefs, it's time to dip a nacho chip into the cheeses dip and and chuckle... "I've been had."
ORFF
  Jan 03, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
7 / 10
Having only seen lesser versions of this in local theater and growing up with the music around, I watched this movie having no real expectations. The music was well done. I wouldn't be able to tell which songs were missing. I noticed that during a lot of the songs, it was just a close up on the actor singing it the whole time. I found that stylistic choice strange, but at the same time, it was nice to see the emotion close up in the actor's face. That is something you don't get if you are sitting fifty feet away from the performer in the musical play. The movie got through Hugh Jackman's character's story well. But I didn't find myself terribly compelled by his adopted daughter's love story with the young revolutionist. I don't know if it is developed more in the musical, but I really did not care about their relationship at all. Now a note on the PG-13 rating: It definitely deserved the PG-13 rating it received. The sexual content mentioned in the mpaa rating is actually more graphic than you'd expect. There are two sex scenes where it is very clear what is going on. So you might want to think about that if you are taking younger kids. Also the violence was mostly bloodless and implied, however, you do see a lot of blood on the ground and in the gutter after the battle. Overall, the movie was worth watching with good music. Hugh struggled to hit a few high notes though. I won't be rushing out to see it again, but I am glad I watched it.
Amanie Astin
  Dec 26, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
This was the first time ever that I'd watched Les Miserables and even heard of it but I must say it was amazing. Hugh Jackmans' performance was spectacular and honestly the scenes I looked forward to seeing were the scenes with Jackman and Crowe together. Simply amazing. I was reading a review for this movie when I saw a reviewer write this "The only weak link in the chain is Crowe, who can’t compete with his highly trained castmates, while his take on Javert’s extended meltdown is unexpectedly flat, unable to seize the tumultuous waves of doubt and denial as the inspector is rocked by Valjean’s compassion. Crowe swallows his songs and underplays the agony, looking like a mannequin next to animated efforts from the rest of the cast." I highly disagree with this opinion, Crowe has a strong voice and he most deffinatley can compete with his cast mates, and no he does not look like a mannequin because last time I checked a mannequin couldn't make me cry, that's right, Crowes' acting was that amazing that it made me cry. Seriously dude, don't bag out Crowe!


Post a review



Please login to post a review.


Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled (Blu-ray)
Gold Box Deal of the Day
Today only: $129.99

Buy Now


 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. Sabotage
2. Insomnia
3. Scanners
4. Ginger Snaps
5. Transcendence
6. The Essential Jacques Demy
7. The Legend of Billie Jean
8. Under the Skin
9. American Hustle
10. Heaven Is for Real
11. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
12. A Hard Day's Night
13. Lucy
14. The LEGO Movie
15. Flatliners

Trending in Theaters
1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
2. The Purge: Anarchy
3. Under the Skin
4. The LEGO Movie
5. Sabotage
6. X-Men: Days of Future Past
7. Transformers: Age of Extinction
8. 22 Jump Street
9. Sex Tape
10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
11. 300: Rise of an Empire
12. Transcendence
13. The Grand Budapest Hotel
14. Lucy
15. Snowpiercer

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The LEGO Movie
2.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
3.  Divergent
4.  Les Misérables
5.  Noah
6.  Heaven Is for Real
7.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
8.  The Dark Knight Trilogy
9.  Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figur...
10.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
2.  Divergent
3.  Noah
4.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
5.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
6.  Batman: The Complete Series
7.  Godzilla 3D
8.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
9.  The Fault in Our Stars
10.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
2.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
3.  Les Misérables
$8.99, Save 61%
4.  Noah
$17.99, Save 55%
5.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
6.  The Dark Knight Trilogy
$38.99, Save 61%
7.  Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figur...
$14.99, Save 75%
8.  Rio 2 3D
$22.99, Save 54%
9.  The Wolf of Wall Street
$9.99, Save 63%
10.  Rise of the Planet of the Apes
$9.00, Save 74%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled

 United States


$219.00 $129.99





The Dark Knight Trilogy

 United States


$99.97 $38.99





God's Not Dead

 United States


$29.99 $17.29





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices