COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Blu-ray)
$37.99
Cannibal Holocaust (Blu-ray)
$25.78
Ghostbusters 1 & 2 Double Pack (Blu-ray)
$19.96
Ken Burns: The Roosevelts (Blu-ray)
$76.89
Batman: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$189.99
Mr. Peabody & Sherman (Blu-ray)
$22.99
House of Cards: The Complete Second Season (Blu-ray)
$29.99
Lake Placid (Blu-ray)
$18.99
Mr. Peabody & Sherman 3D (Blu-ray)
$27.99
Justified: The Complete Fourth Season (Blu-ray)
$17.69
Dexter: The Complete Series 1-8 Collection Exclusive Gift Set (Blu-ray)
$310.05
Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled (Blu-ray)
$149.95
Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
$9.99
The Borgias: The Complete Third Season (Blu-ray)
$23.78
The Swimmer (Blu-ray)
$17.29
Nymphomaniac: Volumes I and II (Blu-ray)
$17.99
God's Not Dead (Blu-ray)
$17.29
The Big Chill (Blu-ray)
$27.59
24: Live Another Day (Blu-ray)
$39.99


Lincoln


2012 | 149 min | PG-13 | 2.39:1

Lincoln

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
7.9
390
ratings.


User reviews


6 user reviews

Movie appeal

 
Drama100%
Period98%
History77%
Biography66%
69
fans

3351
Blu-ray
collections
39
DVD
collections
11
UV
collections
33
iTunes
collections
1
AIV
collections

Theatrical release date


 09 November, 2012
 25 January, 2013

Country of origin


 United States

Box office


 $182,207,973
 $275,293,450

Links


                 

Overview Preview Cast & crew Screenshots User reviews News Forum

Lincoln

 (2012)

Screenshots from Lincoln Blu-ray

User reviews



denger76
  Nov 16, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
One of the best historical drama films in a long time to come out of Hollywood about honest Abe! Of course this film has many things going for it but the most obvious one is Daniel Day Lewis' portrayal of our most famous President, Abraham Lincoln! DDL absorbs the very being of Lincoln in his performance (or as close as we would believe Abe sounded and looked like). There are many great performances in this movie including Sally Field as Mary Todd Lincoln and Tommy Lee Jones as Stevens. The production values transport us back to 1860's life in the White House with a country fallen apart at the seams. This film focuses on the passage of the 13th Amendment to abolish slavery and it was no small feat! We all know how difficult it is for anything to change in congress and any new addition to the constitution would be well almost unheard of today! The production values, the acting, directing and the screenplay are all excellent examples of how Hollywood can get it right. This is history in the making on so many levels that it reminded me of how much I love movies!

RandomK1NG
  Dec 02, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
It's really great. Daniel Day-Lewis is the best. Someone could film him sleeping for 3 hours and it would still be fascinating. He will definitely get another nomination and hopefully another win.

The entire cast ranges from pretty good to excellent. Lewis, Field, & Jones should all get nominations. James Spader kinda steals the show at different points throughout but isn't likely to garner any attention. It's Spielberg's best film in quite a while IMO. Depending on who you are it could only be the best since last year's Tintin(or War Horse), but for me I'd say its the best since Munich or if you wanna go back even further, Saving Private Ryan.

There is a scene at the end that I kinda feel they could've done without. It just felt slightly unnecessary to me. If the credits would've rolled after the scene directly before it then this could very well have been a 10 for me. All in all though it is still very very good and worth a watch for Spielberg and movie fans alike. And depending on how the rest of the potential Oscar contenders play out then this could be the film that receives the most nominations.

Just because of the sheer insanity of it I'm going to list all of the names of the cast... Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, David Strathairn, Tommy Lee Jones, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, John Hawkes, James Spader, Tim Blake Nelson, Michael Stuhlbarg, Jared Harris, Lee Pace, Hal Holbrook, Jackie Earle Haley, Bruce McGill, Walton Goggins, Lukas Haas, Dane DeHaan, and another few familiar faces that you've probably seen in other movies or tv shows but don't know their names. That cast alone should be enough of a reason to see the movie never mind the fact that the movie itself is fantastic as well, but its certainly made all the more possible because of Spielberg(and his crew) and this mammoth cast that was put together. Just unbelievable!

14728
  Jan 08, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
I believe that the strong point for this movie is the acting. I'm almost positive Daniel Day-Lewis will win best actor at the golden globes and the oscars. But that doesn't mean that the rest of the film is bad. I like the directing, the writing, and the makeup. It's my favorite film of the year and Steven Speilberg at his best. I highly recommend this film

TaxiTodd
  Apr 26, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
1 / 10
After sitting through this horribly boring piece of artsy fartsy trash, I must say that I prefer my dead
presidents battling vampires.

simonynwa
  Sep 07, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
9 / 10
Wisely avoiding the usual biopic template, Spielberg focuses on a specific period in Lincoln's life and his attempts to pass a critical amendment to the US constitution. Indeed, many of Spielberg's directorial flourishes are absent here and even the score by Williams is understated. Spielberg seems happy to let his cast and the script do the work and rightly so as he has a great cast of supporting actors and a script worth dwelling on without distractions. Whilst a great performance is expected from Day Lewis, he continues to amaze with how he seemingly inhabits any role he plays. He IS Lincoln and even the cast seem in awe of him and the character he plays. What is also surprising given how serious the subject matter is, is how much humour there is within the script. If there is a flaw, it is in the final moments of the film. The inclusion of Lincoln's assassination would be expected going into this film, but when it arrives, it seems tacked on and unnecessary, given the focus on the constitutional amendment. Perhaps it is a mark of how good the film is and what a significant piece of history it covers that it would have been far better to leave the audience remembering Lincoln's achievement rather than his death. Otherwise a great film!

Steve46
  Nov 17, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
8 / 10
I knew that I would have to see Lincoln because it stars Daniel Day-Lewis, but I was wary of the subject matter. Most historical epics leave me cold, and I find that I have little interest in politics of any kind. The prospect of watching two-and-a-half hours of (mostly) men dressed in 1860s garb, and depictions of the Civil War, did not exactly appeal. I had similar misgivings about The Iron Lady (a far inferior film), but wanted to watch the best actress of her generation, Meryl Streep.

Fortunately for me, with the exception of the opening battle scene, Spielberg chose to do something rather different.

I remember a conversation with Quentin Tarantino, in which he was asked the question whether he would ever direct the biography of someone like Elvis Presley. Tarantino replied that he couldn't imagine covering Presley's whole life, but it might be interesting to write a story depicting the day he signed with Sun Records. Spielberg has chosen a similar strategy for Lincoln. Instead of being shown Lincoln's entire life, Spielberg focuses on the vote to pass the Thirteenth Amendment, to abolish slavery.

This sharp focus worked well in another political drama, Frost/Nixon, in which David Frost tries to extract an apology from Nixon for the crimes he committed while in power.

Lincoln believes in the Thirteenth Amendment, and that the Civil War might be ended if he can get the bill passed. The film shows the methods Lincoln and his subordinates use to secure the required number of votes. He calculates that, in addition to the Republican votes, he will need 20 from other sources. We see what motivates some of the men who might be persuaded to vote in favor of the bill.

On a deeper level, the film is inevitably a character study. We see how Lincoln listens to men from every walk of life and makes them feel valued. He earns their respect, loyalty, and even their love. On a more personal level, he has problems within his own family. Lincoln has to face his wife, Mary (Sally Field), as she questions some of his actions. One of the biggest dilemmas is whether Lincoln should allow his son, Robert (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), to fight in the Civil War.

Other key characters include Thaddeus Stevens (Tommy Lee Jones), who has motivations of his own regarding the bill, and William Seward (David Strathairn), Lincoln's Secretary of State.

This is an all-star cast, and the acting is superb across the board. Day-Lewis is arguably the finest male actor of the current century, and this performance only adds to his legend. As always, he inhabits the character, never sounding just like himself. Compare this latest performance to his Oscar-winning role in There Will Be Blood, and you'll see what I mean. Lincoln speaks softly for the most part, but he captivates his audience. He tells a number of amusing anecdotes and the audience in my theater loved most of them.

Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones could also receive nominations in the supporting categories. If you remove those three actors, the cast would still be stronger than that seen in most movies.

While Lincoln isn't the ideal type of film for me, I respect what it achieves. The technical work matches the excellent acting. If I had a greater interest in history, or politics, I would probably have liked Lincoln even more. I could imagine American audiences being fascinated by the subject. This will be one of the leading contenders for Oscar nominations.

Possible glitch in the matrix: D-Day from Animal House (McGill) appears alongside D. Day-Lewis.


Post a review



Please login to post a review.


The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy (Blu-ray)
Gold Box Deal of the Day
Today only: $37.99

Buy Now


 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. The Legend of Billie Jean
2. Insomnia
3. Scanners
4. The Essential Jacques Demy
5. Jaws
6. Sabotage
7. Maleficent
8. Batman: The Complete Series
9. Under the Skin
10. Twin Peaks: The Entire Mystery
11. The Lord of the Rings: The Motion P...
12. The LEGO Movie
13. Transcendence
14. Heaven Is for Real
15. A Hard Day's Night

Trending in Theaters
1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
2. Lucy
3. Hercules
4. The LEGO Movie
5. Sabotage
6. Under the Skin
7. Noah
8. X-Men: Days of Future Past
9. Maleficent
10. The Purge: Anarchy
11. 300: Rise of an Empire
12. Transformers: Age of Extinction
13. Transcendence
14. RoboCop
15. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The Lord of the Rings: The Motion P...
2.  Noah
3.  Batman: The Complete Series
4.  Divergent
5.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
6.  The LEGO Movie
7.  Heaven Is for Real
8.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
9.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
10.  Godzilla 3D
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Noah
2.  Batman: The Complete Series
3.  Divergent
4.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
5.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
6.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
7.  Godzilla 3D
8.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
9.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
10.  The Other Woman
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  The Lord of the Rings: The Motion P...
$37.99, Save 68%
2.  Noah
$17.99, Save 55%
3.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
4.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
5.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
6.  Rio 2 3D
$22.99, Save 54%
7.  Jaws
$7.99, Save 60%
8.  The Wolf of Wall Street
$11.99, Save 56%
9.  The Legend of Billie Jean
$5.19, Save 48%
10.  The Other Woman
$19.99, Save 50%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


The Lord of the Rings: The Motion Picture Trilogy

 United States


$119.98 $37.99





Cannibal Holocaust

 United States


$39.95 $25.78





Ghostbusters 1 & 2 Double Pack

 United States


$26.99 $19.96





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices