COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
The Dark Knight Trilogy (Blu-ray)
$38.99
Man of Steel Limited Collector's Edition (Blu-ray)
$24.99
Marvel Bundle (Blu-ray)
$64.99
Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figure Gift Set (Blu-ray)
$14.99
Nymphomaniac: Volumes I and II (Blu-ray)
$17.99
Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourth Season (Blu-ray)
$44.99
Godzilla (Blu-ray)
$31.99
Code:Breaker: Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$49.80
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (Blu-ray)
$22.99
The Rodgers & Hammerstein Collection (Blu-ray)
$59.99
The Fault in Our Stars (Blu-ray)
$24.99
Breaking Bad: The Final Season (Blu-ray)
$20.98
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Blu-ray)
$11.99
Revolution: The Complete First Season (Blu-ray)
$17.96
The Legend of Korra - Book Two: Spirits (Blu-ray)
$19.99
Divergent (Blu-ray)
$19.96
The Dick Van Dyke Show: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$92.35
Sons of Anarchy: Season Six (Blu-ray)
$39.99
Rio 2 3D (Blu-ray)
$22.99


Blu-ray Players


 Search
 Compare

Top lists


 Top sellers
 Top rated
 Top owned

Firmware


 Blu-ray Firmware

Releases


 Now available
 New releases
 Coming soon
 Recently added

Community


 New reviews
 Top reviewers

By manufacturer


 Acesonic
 Amex
 Audiovox
 BluCobra
 Bush
 Cambridge Audio
 Curtis Mathes
 Daewoo
 Denon
 Desay
 DMTech
 Funai
 Goldmund
 Gowell
 Grundig
 Haier
 Harman/Kardon
 Hotwell
 Hualu
 Insignia
 Integra
 JVC
 Krell
 Lexicon
 LG
 Loewe
 Magnavox
 Marantz
 Memorex
 Microsoft
 NAD
 Olevia
 ONKYO
 OPPO
 Panasonic
 Philips
 Pioneer
 RCA
 S1Digital
 Samsung
 Sharp
 Sherwood
 Sigmatek
 Soniq
 Sony
 Sylvania
 TCL
 Toshiba
 VDiGi
 Vizio
 Vtrek
 Xoro
 Yamaha


Sony BDP-S570



Sony | 2010

Sony BDP-S570


Regions sold
A, B

BD profile
BD-Live (2.0)

Ethernet
 Yes

Wireless
 Yes

Amazon Price
List price: $249.99 Price history 
Only from third party seller

Buy the BDP-S570 Blu-ray Player

BestBuy Price
List price: 249.99  
Best Buy: 219.99 (Save 12%)

Buy BDP-S570

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
0.0
0
ratings.



Community


14
Owners
15
Photos
32
Fans
Summary Specifications Photos (15) User reviews News Forum

User reviews (17 reviews)


Dyohn
  Jun 17, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Extremely fast loading, excellent Netflix and Internet streaming quality, built-in Wi-Fi, low price for available features

Cons

Non-standard form factor, very cheap feeling build quality, hard to use front panel controls

Review

NOTE: The specs above say this player does not have 3D capability, but it does with the latest firmware update.

I replaced my Sony BDP-S300 Blu Ray Disk player with a new model, the BDP-S570. The S570 is one of Sony's newest players, and in the middle of their consumer line as far as model lineup. It was amazingly low priced at $249 with free shipping on the Sony Style web site, and can be had even more cheaply elsewhere.

I decided to upgrade from the S300 for two main reasons. First, the load times on the S300 are excruciatingly slow, and second it cannot bitstream the newest audio codecs so I was forced to use its on-board decoder and analog output. With my new HDMI-capable prepro I wanted to reduce cable complexity and use HDMI only.

I started doing some research into the newest crop of BRD players and was convinced I would probably get the Oppo 80. But a few reviews said the S570 had "the fastest load times ever tested" and it also has some of the new whiz-bang stuff like wifi, SACD compatibility, Netflix and Amazon streaming, Profile 2.0, 1Gb internal memory, HDMI 1.4 and 3D capability. So since the Sony was half the price of the Oppo, I decided to go for it. I figured that for $250 if I hated it I could send it back or pawn it off onto someone else.

Impressions of the Sony S570:
If you are an equipment snob like me and want your gear to feel substantial, like a quality device, this machine is NOT for you. I thought the box was empty when it arrived. The machine feels like it weights a few ounces (actually it weighs 2Kg or about 4 1/2 pounds.) Upon opening it, I was even more disappointed. this thing is super cheap feeling - you know how some plastic feels "good" and other plastic feels "cheap" and flimsy? This feels cheap. The buttons on the front are almost repulsive little Chiclets about the size of the buttons on my cell phone and remind me of some kind of toy made by Coleco. The disc tray feels like I will break it if I push it in. At least the remote is pretty nice so I won't have to touch the cheesy buttons. If just feels cheap. The power cord is molded into the chassis. The chassis is a non-standard size, which always drives me mad. It is almost a standard rack width at 17" wide, but it is only 8" deep, meaning it is too shallow for any other piece of gear to sit on top of it. I had to rig some rear "feet" for my DVR to sit it on top the Sony. Initial impressions were not good at all and I thought I had made a mistake buying this thing. At least once it is in the rack it doesn't look cheap. The all-black front is not as nice as the blue tinted plastic on the S300, but it looks like it belongs in a good equipment rack. Just don't touch it.

The connectors on the back feature a single HDMI jack, component and composite video, stereo analog audio (that goes with the composite video), Ethernet, digital coax and optical, and USB. There are no multichannel analog audio outputs if you need these, and I found it odd that it would offer legacy video outputs but force anyone using those to only use digital audio or HDMI for high-resolution audio. The USB connector is interesting as it allows the user to connect a memory stick (and the promise later a hard drive) for storing downloaded video. There is also a USB connector on the front and the machine can display a variety of digital image formats and play back a variety of digital audio formats directly from the USB connections, or via its networking capability. So while I probably won't use it as such, the machine has the ability to serve as a media hub. That's pretty nice.

I plugged it in and connected via HDMI to my pre-pro. The remote codes were in the Harmony database. I fired it up and went through the very logical and intuitive setup routine on-screen without having to refer to the owner's manual. I connected it to my network wirelessly (it has 801.n wireless built in) and had it check for a firmware update. There was one, so before I could try it I let it download and update which took about 15 minutes to complete. After it rebooted, I started exploring.

The user interface looks exactly like the PS3. This is not surprising since this box is pretty much the PS3 without the gaming capability or any on-board hard drive. It was intuitive and easy to navigate. I went to the setup screens and went through all the settings to see if I needed to adjust anything. Then I popped in a Blu Ray disc (Up.)

Wow. I was shocked. Where the old S300 would give me several "loading" screens and I could almost walk the half mile to the nearest Starbucks, get a latte and walk back before a disc was ready to play, this thing flashed the screen a couple of times and boom, it was ready to go. It was literally the fastest load I'd ever seen, faster than the CD player in my car can load a CD. Very impressive. The picture quality was also outstanding, as I expected. The sound, however, was not right.

"Up" has a dts-HD soundtrack, and the Emotiva processor told me the Sony was sending it multi-channel PCM. Hmm. I went back into the setup screens and it said dts was set to output as dts, but there did not seem to be any settings associated with the HD codecs. Hmm again. So I stopped the disc and thumbed through the owners manual. No mention of anything special I need to do. Time to hit up Google. Nothing obvious came up. Back to the owner's manual and I notice in the troubleshooting section a problem called "Dolby True HD and dts HD bitstream does not work." Aha. It seems one must set a user setting called "BD Audio Mix Output" to "OFF" and then the high def codecs will bitstream. Oh really? So I did this, and boom the Emotiva told me the sound track was dts-HD. There is no where other than this troubleshooting guide that mentions this, and the setup information says the "BD Audio Mix" function has something to do with the secondary audio tracks.

So, if any of you purchase this box or it's siblings, be sure to set this function to "OFF" if you have a pre-pro that decodes the new codecs.

After enjoying "Up" I tried the Netflix streaming function and cued up "It Might Get Loud." It came up on the screen surprisingly quickly, and the video quality was HD and the Dolby Digital soundtrack was excellent. I was surprised and pleased.

Next I tried playing back an SACD (Madman Across The Water.) The S570 outputs SACD as either Multi-PCM or Multi-channel DSD. I had set it to DSD, but the Emotiva will not accept a DSD input. The Sony detected this via the HDMI handshake and output the music as multi-channel PCM. It sounded great.

Bottom line, my bias against cheap-feeling gear was maybe a little wrong and I really love this box. I didn't think I'd ever use the Profile 2.0 BD-Live features or something like Netflix streaming but I was wrong, I had a good time checking it out. I still think I'll never use the 3D features but who knows. I am happy I bought this and feel it is one of the best bargain buys I have ever made for my HT.

Blu-RayNut
  Jun 08, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Wi-fi, live streaming, fast loading.

Cons

Just one, no backlit remote, otherwise all awesome.

Review

I bought this nearly a year ago to replace my original which was a Sony BDP-S380 because it died.

I haven't looked back since, and aside from my receiver and speakers, everything I have for home entertainment has always been SONY the one and only. ;0)

tuckest
  Jul 14, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Awesome PQ, Sleek outside look, WiFi streaming compatible, 3D Firmware upgrade,

Cons

Slow upstart and shut down times, Netflix activation is spotty

Review

This is a WiFi capable blu-ray player with Sony written all over it. When you pay a decent amount with Sony products you get quality assurance and peace of mind. This Blu-ray hardware is compatible with the Sony media remote app that lets you use a smart device instead of a clunky remote.

The BDP-S570 is as reliable as my cat wanting food. It acts as a movie player that can display the best of what my Sony 46" TV has to offer, 1080p. While I cannot speak for the audio content, the menu interface is user-friendly, even a senile person can operate it. You can personalize it all you want and cannot take away the simplicity of this machine. The hardware is an energy saver and recognizes when you have turned the unit on, so it tunes to the correct input.

derrick
  Aug 21, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Fast loading, great wi-fi reception, always timely firmware updates, tons of streaming options and incredible picture and audio.

Cons

I've had since December and have yet to find any.

Review

This player was bought to replace/upgrade what I had with the Sony BDP-300. Setup was remarkably fast, easy and simple. I fell in love with this player the moment I started it up. Not only is performance better than the BDP-300 but this machine is so smaller, thinner and lighter than the previous beast that I was using and still own. As far as stand alone players go I really don't see how you could possibly do better than this one without paying a great deal more money. Also important to note is that this player is also 3D ready. Buy now!!!

popcornninja
  Feb 19, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Very Fast loading, Netflix and Amazon On-demand, built-in wifi

Cons

Menus aren't quite as smooth as ps3

Review

Overall this a great player. Reminds me of a PS3 minus the gaming capabilities (also menus aren't quite as smooth as PS3). You get a very fast loading player with built-in wifi. Would recommend it to others in need of standalone player.

Webmaster1990
  Jul 17, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Extremely fast operational speed, Wifi, reliable, what else could one want? Oh, n its 3D proof.

Cons

Nothing I care about.

Review

This is SONY's way of saying we have now created a player less expensive than the PS3 with faster operational speed and wifi. In doing so, it is now the fastest player in the market. It has certain internet widgets (Netflix, Pandora, Amazon VOD...), but I can care less for that as I don't use it. Sony has redeemed themselves in 2010, kudos!

mport5150
  Jul 31, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Nice product overall, Fast loading speeds. Looking forward to 3D!

Cons

Only have had this model since May and it was already 2 Firmware updates behind. Worked for almost 3 hours with Sony help desk to try to get the internet and Netflix working

Review

I was in the market for a Blu Ray player and wanted to go with a SONY as it is their technology. I am new to Blu Ray so there was a lot of research involved. The things that sold me on this model was that it was 3D ready, it had wireless internet capabilities and that we could directly download Netflix movies and stream them, without having to deal with the mailing of discs back and forth. Overall a very good product.
mikeinriverside
  Aug 01, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Easy to use menu, great internet features, used Netflix to play a instant movie, even with a "g" wireless network it played in near hd quality. Great DVD and Blu Ray player.

Cons

As of this writing, after a couple of days with this player I have no cons.

Review

I had a two year old Sharp which was ok, but it could not play even slightly imperfect disks, and had no internet ability. I got this Sony BDP-S570 because it was a new model, was on sale, had internet, on board memory, and could play movies with out a problem. A movie which could not play right on my old Sharp played just fine on this player.
bluskiff
  Sep 19, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

beautiful picture fast as hell

Cons

remote has no mute switch

Review

this is my 3rd sony bluray player I had the 300 and the 550. The 570 blows them both out of the water.Maybe its because it has deep color in it but the picture was worth every penny. It also faster than a ps3. I have 3 friends who went out and one after seeing mine. love it
NUTRITIONWORKS
  Sep 27, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Quick start. Easy to use remote.

Cons

Too slow in the start up process of a blu-ray

Review

I have had Panasonic the BD35,55,65 and the picture on these machines are rich and more definable. I am not sure that SONY has hit the mark as well as other manufacturers
Digital_Dave
  Oct 09, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Extremely fast startup and loading. Full 1080p 3D playback. Wi-Fi enabled.

Cons

The remote is not lighted.

Review

This blu-ray player is really nice. It supports full HD 1080p 3D playback and the fastest Wi-Fi version currently available. If you don't have a strong Wi-Fi signal, or don't have a home network, then you can still connect to the internet with ethernet. The older Sony Blu-ray remotes didn't have an eject button, but this model does. The performance of Amazon HD video on demnad seems to be better than Netflix HD streaming at this point in time.

stevo4264
  Oct 30, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Excellent loading times, and 3d ready

Cons

No backlighting for the remote

Review

This unit replaced my old Samsung BDP1500 which was very slow to load any BD after a lot of research I found the Sony was perfect for me, simply because I wanted quick load up times.

indianajones1
  Nov 20, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Netflix feature, wifi, fast loading, excellent picture quality, syncs with Sony Bravia HDTV's

Cons

None that I care about

Review

This is my first blu ray player. I did not really know what to expect but from the first day I plugged it in- I am awestruck by all this new technology. The wifi feature was easy to use. If you subscribe to netflix, just sign in via the remote control and your in. You will need to instant que the movies from your computer, but thats a no brainer. Best thing to do is que at least 50 movies. As long as your a Netflix subscriber, its almost like owning the movies. The movie load time is about 1 minute (not bad IMO). The picture quality is awesome (much better than from my PC monitor). There are other video services such as Amazon VOD and others but I am going to stick with Netflix. Make sure you use an HDMI cable for this and NOT the included A/V cable for a much better picture/sound quality for the blu ray discs. Be warned: after buying this player, you will be glued to your HDTV more often. I paid $199.99 + tax at my local Best Buy November 2010.
raygendreau
  Jan 08, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Easy to set up and use in 2D or 3D

Cons

I have no cons to report as of Jan 8, 2011

Review

This was purchased to give my PS3 a rest, but, more importantly, to get lossless audio when playing 3DBDs.
Bravia Synch makes it a breeze to use with my Sony Bravia KDL-40hx800. Fast load and quiet when playing, another contrast with my Fat PS3.

steve1971
  Feb 09, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Netflix feature, wifi, fast loading, excellent picture quality, syncs with Sony Bravia HDTV's

Cons

Nothing. It's perfect.

Review

I wanted the S570 for over a year and just this past weekend I bought it. Hookup was fast and simple. I thought hooking it up wirelessly was going to be a chore for me because I dont have experience with that sord of thing but the player walked me right through the steps and it was very very simple to hook up. This player has every internet app you can want or really need. Streaming options galore, 3D ready you name it. The PQ and audio was outstanding and the load times were super fast. The S570 replaced my fat 80gb PS3 and Sony BDP N460 and there is no looking back. In my opinion this is the best Blu ray player on the market.

CarlT
  May 22, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 1


Pros

Looks good, excellent PQ & AQ, Very fast loading

Cons

Sounds like a rough messerschmitt during use !

Review

I bought this player with very high expectations, and lots promised from various hardware reviews. Unfortunately, it was not able to live up to either....

In the beginning, all was well.... AQ & PQ as promised, along with the superb streaming options from BBC iPlayer etc.

After just over 6 months heavy use, it started to make so much noise I could hardly hear the dialogue on any title I wanted to enjoy. This noise varied from disk to disk (all original pressings), and even varied for the same title when played at a different time.

I feel Sony have sacrificed quality over form factor and delivered a player that is easy on the eye, but cannot deliver on its core purpose.

Don't get me wrong, I like sony products. My PS3 is still going strong, and is standing in for the 570. My S550 never had any issues, and I really wish I hadn't traded up (...??)


The noise generated by this machine is a complete deal-breaker for me as it renders the subtle and complex sountracks on most titles absolutely worthless.

Sorry Sony, but EPIC FAIL this time.


I am eagerly awaiting the delivery of an Oppo 93.......
mgtechmods
  Nov 19, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 2.5


Pros

Plays Blu-Ray that's really about it. O and USB is nice and works great.

Cons

Everything else is horrid, streaming, gracenote, bravia sync (yes i can use the remote for my tv but not the other way around) a lot of formats that it says it can play, doesn't.

Review

This is the worst of the Sony devices yet. I spent a year troubleshooting everything from internet, router, lines to the house, the unit itself, and netflix. This device is horrible at streaming content, I finally deduced it to the unit itself and Sony. Every thirty seconds to minute and a half it buffers constantly and gives me "network is down" "is network setup properly" Well every other device is fine on wireless and netflix. Sony customer service is the worst Ive ever dealt with, (and I have sprint!). Ive even went and bought the same unit, put the defective unit back in that box and returned it to get my $200 back, did that three times having the same problem, so naturally its safe to say its the unit. I personally hate Sony products because Ive always had one issue or another with them. My $50 unit performs 10x better than this unit, leading me to believe Sony is cutting corners with the components and selling us bunked stuff for premium prices. Also on a side note their Bravia TV's blow to, right after purchase the store refused to take the unit back and only wanted to repair it. The HDMI ports dont work, the stores fix, turn off auto detection of the ports! Thats not a fix! If a feature is not working that they claim to sell you then its broke, the answer is not to not use it! Hence why im mad at sprint, they do it too. But anyway, Im glad I went to school and know how to fix these things, but point is we pay to have coverage to have the "other" guy fix it, not me! My advice skip this and wait for a new line to come out, or go with an LG I heard good things about them and alot of happy customers. I cant wait to have money for another device, this one is getting the baseball bat! You know the scene from "Office Space" yea that is gonna happen! Can't wait Im getting all excited thinking about it. But the reason why we even got Sony is because we have a Sony fan in the house and against my advice, he gets Sony. But guess what? He regrets it and when it came time to pick PS3 or Xbox, take a guess which one we got? Id rather pay monthly to play and premium prices for premium results. STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNIT! Sony will charge you to "fix" it even if you just bought it 24hrs prior, like really? You Sony douchbags!


Post a review



Please login to post a review.



 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. Sabotage
2. Insomnia
3. Ginger Snaps
4. Scanners
5. Transcendence
6. Under the Skin
7. The Essential Jacques Demy
8. The Legend of Billie Jean
9. American Hustle
10. A Hard Day's Night
11. Heaven Is for Real
12. Interview with the Vampire
13. Godzilla
14. Witness for the Prosecution
15. Rise of the Planet of the Apes

Trending in Theaters
1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
2. Under the Skin
3. The LEGO Movie
4. The Purge: Anarchy
5. Godzilla
6. Transformers: Age of Extinction
7. Rio 2
8. Sex Tape
9. 22 Jump Street
10. The Grand Budapest Hotel
11. 300: Rise of an Empire
12. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
13. Sabotage
14. The Fault in Our Stars
15. Snowpiercer

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The LEGO Movie
2.  Divergent
3.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
4.  Heaven Is for Real
5.  The Dark Knight Trilogy
6.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
7.  Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figur...
8.  Rio 2 3D
9.  Godzilla 3D
10.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Divergent
2.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
3.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
4.  Godzilla 3D
5.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
6.  The Fault in Our Stars
7.  Noah
8.  Batman: The Complete Series
9.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
10.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
2.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
3.  The Dark Knight Trilogy
$38.99, Save 61%
4.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
5.  Man of Steel Exclusive Action Figur...
$14.99, Save 75%
6.  Rio 2 3D
$22.99, Save 54%
7.  Noah
$19.99, Save 50%
8.  Rise of the Planet of the Apes
$9.00, Save 74%
9.  The Wolf of Wall Street
$11.99, Save 56%
10.  The Grand Budapest Hotel
$19.96, Save 50%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


The Dark Knight Trilogy

 United States


$99.97 $38.99





Man of Steel Limited Collector's Edition

 United States


$59.99 $24.99





Marvel Bundle

 United States


$199.99 $64.99





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices