COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
Steven Spielberg Director's Collection (Blu-ray)
$91.99
Y Tu Mamá También (Blu-ray)
$19.99
Okami-San & Her Seven Companions: Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$23.99
Ministry of Fear (Blu-ray)
$14.99
The Other Woman (Blu-ray)
$12.99
Dream Theater: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Blu-ray)
$16.99
Marvel Cinematic Universe: Phase One - Avengers Assembled (Blu-ray)
$119.99
Archer: The Complete Season Three (Blu-ray)
$12.96
Sons of Anarchy: Season Six (Blu-ray)
$29.99
The Walking Dead: The Complete Fourth Season (Blu-ray)
$29.99
Picnic at Hanging Rock (Blu-ray)
$19.99
Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! (Blu-ray)
$19.99
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Blu-ray)
$19.96
Paul McCartney & Wings: Rockshow (Blu-ray)
$15.88
The Devil Is a Part-Timer! Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$40.18
The Fault in Our Stars (Blu-ray)
$24.99
Great Expectations (Blu-ray)
$14.99
High School Confidential (Blu-ray)
$18.99
Moms' Night Out (Blu-ray)
$16.99


Blu-ray Players


 Search
 Compare

Top lists


 Top sellers
 Top rated
 Top owned

Firmware


 Blu-ray Firmware

Releases


 Now available
 New releases
 Coming soon
 Recently added

Community


 New reviews
 Top reviewers

By manufacturer


 Acesonic
 Amex
 Audiovox
 BluCobra
 Bush
 Cambridge Audio
 Curtis Mathes
 Daewoo
 Denon
 Desay
 DMTech
 Funai
 Goldmund
 Gowell
 Grundig
 Haier
 Harman/Kardon
 Hotwell
 Hualu
 Insignia
 Integra
 JVC
 Krell
 Lexicon
 LG
 Loewe
 Magnavox
 Marantz
 Memorex
 Microsoft
 NAD
 Olevia
 ONKYO
 OPPO
 Panasonic
 Philips
 Pioneer
 RCA
 S1Digital
 Samsung
 Sharp
 Sherwood
 Sigmatek
 Soniq
 Sony
 Sylvania
 TCL
 Toshiba
 VDiGi
 Vizio
 Vtrek
 Xoro
 Yamaha


Sony PLAYSTATION 3



160GB SLIM Sony | 2009

Sony PLAYSTATION 3 (160GB SLIM)


Regions sold
A, B

BD profile
BD-Live (2.0)

Ethernet
 Yes

Wireless
 Yes

Amazon Price
List price: $249.99 Price history 
Third party: $299.99
Only from third party seller

Buy the PLAYSTATION 3 (160GB SLIM) Blu-ray Player

BestBuy Price
List price: 299.99  
Best Buy: 299.99

Buy PLAYSTATION 3 (160GB SLIM)

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
9.4
2
ratings.



Community


36
Owners
55
Photos
118
Fans
Summary Specifications Photos (55) User reviews News Forum

Reviews (12 reviews)



Amnalehu
  Dec 24, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Play Blu Rays, 3D Blu Rays, Music, and Games

Cons

Audio takes a hit during 3D play back

Review

If you don't care about TruHD/Lossless Audio, you would be wise to invest in this machine. The PS3 is THE entertainment/Media hub of our home. It's great for showing your friends and family all of your digital photos, storing and playing back music (Walkman compatible), playing HD games, huge online community and watching Blu ray/3D movies. The load times are significantly lower than other BD players I have experienced.

As of late, I have been using it to view my 3D Blu Rays. I am using the PN58 7000 series Samsung plasma display. have not experienced any excessive ghosting or other artifacts. I have a very extensive 3D collection ranging from Despicable me to the Samsung Triple Play disc and I can report that the PS3 handled them all with no problem. The only real issue I have with the PS3 as a blu ray 3D player is the loss of audio quality during 3D playback. I am hoping that if this is not a memory issue, that this is something that will be corrected in the future via firmware. The PS3 also does a fine job of upscaling regular DVD's.

On a side note, the PS3 also does a great job with 3D gaming. Although games like Gran Turismo 5 and Call of Duty Black Ops took a hit in frame rate, it almost looks like they got a boost in resolution during 3D play! The Jungle stage on Call of Duty in 3D is simply amazing and other games like Tumble really look great in 3D.

In summary, if you are in the market for a 3D blu ray player and you are not a true audiophile, get a PS3. It simply offers the most bang for you buck!

iamlilc
  Jun 25, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Gaming, Blu-ray's, 3D, DVD's, Netflix, Music, Internet, USB, WiFi, Firmware updates.

Cons

Needs a Logitech adapter for Harmony remotes.

Review

After my XBOX 360 got the dreaded "Red Ring of Death" 3 times over the first two and a half years, I started to get worried with the warranty coming up, so I decided to sell it and get a PS3 instead. I've always been an XBOX guy, so I was a little weary about getting a Playstation. I've always found that the controller on the PS2/PS3 to be more tiring to use and it doesn't fit my hands as nicely as the 360 ones. However, over time I've become used to it and love the fact that you can recharge it without having to buy any additional cables or batteries. At the time the PS3 was the same price as a stand alone BD player, so this was really a no-brainer in my opinion.

As for the machine itself - right of the box this thing comes with everything. It's slim, sleek and compliments any home theater beautifully. I bought into the HD craze early on, so this thing was probably my best investment to date. It replaced my stand alone BD player as it supported gaming and BD's, which took a lot less time to load to boot. I also subscribed to Netflix, so the PS3 made it really easy with it's built-in app. Since it's wifi capable, I'm always up to date with the newest firmware since it gives you a friendly reminder when there's a new one available. I also connect my USB stick to it to play movies, music and display pictures as well.

I recently purchased a 3D TV and tried out some 3D games and 3D BD's, which were fantastic! Having bought this machine 3 years ago, it's a pleasant surprise that I don't need to purchase another BD player to support 3D, but rather just update my firmware to be able to play them.

My only small complaints to date has been that I had to purchase a $50 Logitech adapter in order for my Harmony remote to connect to the PS3. Also, it could be a tad quieter during playback - I only really notice a slight hum during quiet scenes when watching movies, but it's not a big deal.

All in all, the PS3 is a beast of a machine and has not only made me extremely happy over the years, it's saved me money by not having to buy another stand alone 3D/BD player. I've been officially converted from 360 to PS3!
deano
  Jan 14, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

its great at everything it does

Cons

none an amazing player

Review

this is the ultimate player it plays games and blu rays, plus 3D capable. picture looks great in any mode. I use this for playing games such as uncharted that look stunning almost real. i also use this for watching blu rays both 2d and 3d and both look fantastic

mtlscream
  Apr 24, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 3.5


Pros

Great system to have everything

Cons

Not great for 3D blu-rays..

Review

Just like lar420, i did notice a lot of blur and ghosting with my ps3 on certain movies while my panasonic player was fine.
I was trying to use my ps3 for everything and to avoid too many remotes and cables.... but i was force to keep my Panasonic blu-ray player....
punkguy03
  May 10, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Great for blu-rays. Easily updated and not noisy at all.

Cons

The new ps3s don't play ps2 games. (not actually a bluray problem tho)

Review

Great system, a bit quieter then my old 60 gb system. Great for anyone looking for a bluray player since you can update them, so they don't become outdated as some bluray players seem to.

bguzman
  Jul 15, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Every Thing. it does it all

Cons

My PS3 Phat died from the YLOD

Review

What can you say about the PS3 that already hasn't been said? Not much but I will any way. I believe that the PS3 is one of the best consumer electronics devices ever made. It plays video games, of course, videos, photos, movies, DVDs, and Blu-rays both 2D and 3D. This can be done from actual discs, a flash drive, a hard drive, or streaming from your own network or the web. No other device has been able to be upgraded through firmware as many times and added as many features. Some not even thought of when it was introduced.

Yes this comes from a guy who paid $500+ for a PS3 60gb in 2006 only to have it die four years later. What did I do then? I sold the dead one and bought a new one. Lost a card reader, gained bitstreaming. What do you with a disk that won't play on your stand alone player? Put it in the PS3 and enjoy, enough said.

Donat96
  Oct 01, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

A good choice for gamers. Good internet features. Quiet.

Cons

No HD sound in 3D mode.

Review

The Playstation 3 is one of the most popular Blu-ray players available. It's compatibility and ease of use are impressive and it's the best you can get before going into the $500 range of players. Obviously, something that will attract many is it's gaming capabilities, being the current "fastest" console available. However, it also has good additional features such as Netflix, which it can stream at 1080p and a web browser. It's also very quiet, unlike it's chunky predecessor, and you can't even hear a hum while your movie is playing. The only real downside is that users equipped with 3DTVs should look elsewhere, as the old HDMI spec this player uses only supports 3D without HD audio. Though, if you only have a 2D set up, you'll be quite alright. Overall, it's one the best players out there, and definitely delivers the best bang for your buck.

thor
  Nov 05, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

an awesome bluray and gaming system. It does a very good job of decoding DTS hd master and True hd.

Cons

nothing that I can think of.

Review

This is a great bluray player and gaming system. this 160 gig version does a good job on decoding DTS hd master and True hd. I have had mine for a year and aim still loving it.

DaLegend
  Feb 20, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

works great with my samsung 40 inch tv and the remote that came with the tv is already programed to the ps3 so thats a plus.

Cons

has a humming sound after a while its been on. maybe just my machine, not sure.

Review

haven't had anything to compare it to. this is my first for playing 3d movies. has an obvious humming sound after being on for a while but i hardly use it until now when i got my 3d tv. i use it a lot now since i got the 3d tv but other then the sound, it's a dependable machine for viewing 3d movies. picture quality is very satisfying to me at least.

thunderchild_nz888
  Apr 26, 2012
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Plenty of multimedia playback options, bluray, networking, web-browsing, gaming

Cons

no MKV playback, external HDDs need to be FAT32 formatted

Review

The best of everything you can get in one box
Gaming, Video, Music, Photos, Networking, Internet, DTV Tuner/Recorder

I still cannot get over the price that you pay for all you get, the PS3 is SOO cheap!

I have to admit that I dont even own any PS3 games, I use my PS3 soley for multimedia
the photo album application that comes with the PS3 is terrific
streaming or storing music or videos on the PS3 is easy as pie
there is also an aftermarket DTV tuner and recorder that you can purchase aswell as a wireless remote

one issue to note is that the PS3 does not playback the popular file format MKV and if you want to plug an external HDD into the PS3 then it has to be formatted to FAT32, which is frustraing because FAT32 does not support files over 4GB (which most HD content exceeds)



the PS3 is highly recommended if you are looking for an all in one multimedia solution

MaCruz
  Aug 18, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Great all around BDP and gaming system. Easily supports/decodes Dolby TrueHD & DTS-HD MA with your receiver.

Cons

Some lag or delay when turning the system on with Sony BDP remote, and PS3 controller.

Review

I upgraded my phat 80GB PS3 to the Slim 160GB PS3 back in December of 2010. I couldn't resist the Christmas sale at BB and since I was upgrading my HT gear, I went ahead and upgraded my PS3. Since the phat PS3 could not display or decode the current HD sounds like Dolby, and DTS. I wanted to make sure my PS3 was up to date with the rest of my gear. Rather than just buying a separate BDP, I went ahead and bought a slim PS3 instead to go with my other new electronic devices. After doing the initial setup with my TV, and receiver. I couldn't be anymore happy with my PS3 Slim. It does everything for me since I only use my PS3 mainly for Blu-ray movies, and a few PS3 games.

My only drawback however, is the delay time from the PS3 controllers. For example, when I want to navigate on the PS3 menu, it takes about 1 second for the system to respond once the controller is turned on. This also goes for the Sony BDP remote. It's been 8 months now and it still has a delay for the system to respond from a "cold start". I never had this small issue with my phat PS3. Otherwise, I still recommend this product to anyone looking for something simple for gaming, movies, music, and now Netflix. PS3 can pretty much do it all these days.
lar420
  Dec 14, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 2.5


Pros

Great at playing games

Cons

Not that great at 3d blu-rays

Review

I'm a owner of a 50in 1080p Samsung 3d plasma,with ps3 ghosting appears in 3d blu-rays which ghosting is not a issue with my Samsung bd-c6900 3d blu-ray player on the same movies. In my opinion the ps3 is great at 3d gaming and 2d blu-ray playback, but I recommend a stand alone player for 3d blu-ray playback.


Post a review



Please login to post a review.



 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
2. The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
3. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
4. The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
5. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
6. The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
7. The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
8. Transformers: Age of Extinction 3D
9. Toy Story of Terror!
10. Sons of Anarchy: Season Six
11. Y Tu Mamá También
12. Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
13. The Legend of Hell House
14. All That Jazz
15. A Time to Kill

Trending in Theaters
1. Guardians of the Galaxy
2. Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
3. The Expendables 3
4. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
5. Transformers: Age of Extinction
6. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
7. Lucy
8. Edge of Tomorrow
9. Snowpiercer
10. The Giver
11. How to Train Your Dragon 2
12. Boyhood
13. Let's Be Cops
14. Into the Storm
15. The Fault in Our Stars
16. 22 Jump Street
17. The Hundred-Foot Journey
18. A Most Wanted Man
19. Hercules
20. Magic in the Moonlight

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
2.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
3.  Noah
4.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
5.  Frozen
6.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
7.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
8.  Godzilla 3D
9.  Sons of Anarchy: Season Six
10.  The Fault in Our Stars
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
2.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
3.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
4.  Godzilla 3D
5.  The Fault in Our Stars
6.  Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods
7.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
8.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
9.  Godzilla
10.  Breaking Bad: The Complete Series
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
$29.99, Save 63%
2.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
$24.96, Save 46%
3.  Noah
$19.49, Save 51%
4.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
5.  Frozen
$24.96, Save 45%
6.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
$19.96, Save 45%
7.  Sons of Anarchy: Season Six
$29.99, Save 57%
8.  The Fault in Our Stars
$24.99, Save 50%
9.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
10.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


Steven Spielberg Director's Collection

 United States


$199.98 $91.99





Y Tu Mamá También

 United States


$39.95 $19.99





Okami-San & Her Seven Companions: Complete Series

 United States


$64.98 $23.99





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices