COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! (Blu-ray)
$19.99
Y Tu Mamá También (Blu-ray)
$19.99
Jumanji (Blu-ray)
$7.99
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Blu-ray)
$19.96
Wrong Turn Trilogy (Blu-ray)
$17.31
The Amazing Spider-Man 3D (Blu-ray)
$14.99
The Walking Dead: The Complete Fourth Season (Blu-ray)
$29.99
The East (Blu-ray)
$6.99
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Blu-ray)
$18.96
Insomnia (Blu-ray)
$22.98
Tinto Brass: Maestro of Erotica Cinema (Blu-ray)
$45.34
It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World (Blu-ray)
$24.99
The Fault in Our Stars (Blu-ray)
$24.99
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (Blu-ray)
$74.99
Once Upon a Time: The Complete Third Season (Blu-ray)
$39.99
Homeland: The Complete Third Season (Blu-ray)
$31.99
Friends: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$110.00
Dragon Ball Z: Season 5 (Blu-ray)
$25.89
Deadwood: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$59.96


Blu-ray Players


 Search
 Compare

Top lists


 Top sellers
 Top rated
 Top owned

Firmware


 Blu-ray Firmware

Releases


 Now available
 New releases
 Coming soon
 Recently added

Community


 New reviews
 Top reviewers

By manufacturer


 Acesonic
 Amex
 Audiovox
 BluCobra
 Bush
 Cambridge Audio
 Curtis Mathes
 Daewoo
 Denon
 Desay
 DMTech
 Funai
 Goldmund
 Gowell
 Grundig
 Haier
 Harman/Kardon
 Hotwell
 Hualu
 Insignia
 Integra
 JVC
 Krell
 Lexicon
 LG
 Loewe
 Magnavox
 Marantz
 Memorex
 Microsoft
 NAD
 Olevia
 ONKYO
 OPPO
 Panasonic
 Philips
 Pioneer
 RCA
 S1Digital
 Samsung
 Sharp
 Sherwood
 Sigmatek
 Soniq
 Sony
 Sylvania
 TCL
 Toshiba
 VDiGi
 Vizio
 Vtrek
 Xoro
 Yamaha


Sony PlayStation 3



40GB Sony | Nov 02, 2007

Sony PlayStation 3 (40GB)


Regions sold
A, B, C

BD profile
BD-Live (2.0)

Ethernet
 Yes

Wireless
 Yes

Amazon Price
List price: $259.99 Price history 
Third party: $598.00
Only from third party seller

Buy the PlayStation 3 (40GB) Blu-ray Player

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
0.0
0
ratings.



Community


39
Owners
70
Photos
30
Fans
Summary Specifications Photos (70) User reviews News Forum

User reviews (29 reviews)



Batman00
  Feb 26, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Awesome Player and Very Fast Loading

Cons

Bulky compared to the other Blu-ray players

Review

The Sony Playstation 3 is probably without a doubt the #1 Blu-ray Player. Its basically a computer that also plays Blu-rays; Since the PS3 is $399, so technically its the cheapest blu-ray player at 200, because its $200 for the player and $200 for the game system. You get more bang for your buck. Even if your not a gamer, it still is the best player around. Very Sleek Design, but Bulky (which really doesn't matter to me). So with the PS3 you get: 1/3 Blu-ray player, 1/3 Computer, 1/3 Game System

jnm422
  Feb 26, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Fully upgradable via the PSN. Ease of use, fast loading and external design

Cons

None that I have found, I have the 60GB version that I got in Jan 07.

Review

Quite simply, this is the player of all players in my opinion. It was the catalyst in winning the format war, period. Upgradeability along with the added asset of being a gaming console make this machine the Swiss Army knife of blu-ray players.

The Bear
  Mar 10, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

The PS3 Is Without A Doubt The Best Blu-Ray Player On The Market For Money. US 40GB $399 Dollars UK 40GB £299 Pounds

Cons

There Is None That I Now Of Just Simply Amazing.

Review

I Have The UK 60GB Version & The US 40GB Version Both Work Like A Dream. I Love The PS3 For Not Just Games & Blu-Rays But For My Music Collection & My Photos All In All It Is A Fantastic Multimedia Device Thanks Sony.
HDTV1080P
  Apr 09, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Outstanding picture performance with Blu-ray Discs with very fast load times.

Cons

Will not bitstream DTS-HD Master audio, No PS1 and PS2 game support. Only PS3.

Review

The PS3 BLU-RAY movie and videogame player is still the best overall BLU-RAY player and it costs only $399 for the cheapest model.

Negatives of the PS3
Only major negative is for people that want the highest quality surround sound. The PS3 will not bitstream DTS-HD Master audio and this is a hardware limitation and is not upgradable view a firmware update according to the article. Perhaps internal decoding DTS-HD Master audio might be possible with a firmware update. Perhaps Sony will upgrade the physical hardware in future PS3 models to support bitstream.

Quote
“In spite of sporting an HDMI 1.3 output, the PS3 does not have the ability to output DD+ or TrueHD as native bitstreams; it converts both to multichannel PCM. My understanding is that lack of bitstream support is hardware level and will not be changed via firmware, ever.” “ “Lacks bitstream output for TrueHD and DTS-HD MA”


Positives of the PS3

Quotes
“Standard setting speed and reliability with Blu-ray playback
Outstanding pure picture performance with Blu-ray Discs
Very respectable upconverting DVD performance
Wi-Fi Internet for Web interactivity and system updates
Loaded for interactivity; meets Bonus View and BD-Live specs”

Here is the latest review on the Sony PS3 which is a first generation BLU-RAY player that can outperform all other BLU-RAY players accept in the area of advanced surround sound formats.

http://hometheatermag.com/playstation/508sonyps3/index.html
kjt1992
  Jun 08, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

3D support via update, DTS -HD and Dolby True-HD support

Cons

there are no cons really, runs well, looks brilliant and sounds amazing

Review

this ps3 like most versions, is constantly updated via ethernet. this is how it became the 1st blu-ray 2.0 player and dts-hd master audio is now also compatible. and also ALL _ PS3's are getting a 3D update , 1 update has already been added, and the next update will give the ps3 full 3d movie and game support.

KingLeonidas300
  Jun 10, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Setup, quality, features, price

Cons

slow firmware updates, no idea a slim was being release

Review

I admit it, I was a supported of HD-DVD and was against blu-ray for the longest time. After the death of HD-DVD I made the jump over to blu and have never looked back. The PS3 was my first blu-ray player and I loved it so much I bought a second one for the bedroom. Using the system is very easy but the only issue I have is the firmware updates seem to be slow. I thought it was my internet connection but that wasn't it. Also, I was unware there was a thought about a slim and how it would decode the HD sound I would have waited on purchasing the second unit to get the slim. It is what it is. I will wait for one of my current systems to go down and then purchase a new one.

RAZGRIZ-1
  Jun 16, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Greatest video game console made to date.

Cons

No backwards compatability with PS2 games.

Review

The Playstation 3 is a beast of a machine. It can handle anything you give to it. It's more than
just a video game console, it is the center of your entertainment setup. Games, pictures, videos,
CD's, DVD's, Blu-ray's. It does it all. It also has the ability to stream content from media servers.
The Playstation 3 uses the Playstation Network (PSN) to connect your console to Sony and all
other PSN users.

The 40GB PS3 has everything that really matters for the PS3 without all the extras. The fan is
quiter on the 40GB PS3 and it runs cooler because it does not have the PS2 chipset for
backwards compatability. It still receives a 5 out of 5 because it is still a dominant machine.

tjack360
  Jul 29, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Firmware updates work great. PSN is cool with enough free entertainment to keep me interested in using it frequently. Can add external HDD to add more storage for movies and such.

Cons

Blower is hella loud when unit gets hot. Thinking about upgrading to the newer slim version with more memory.

Review

Decent unit. Wish the blower wasn't so loud but other than that, I have been happy with it. I will most likely splurge and by the newer slim version because of the blower issues. Plus, the slim PS3 has more storage space.
ellldiablo
  Feb 27, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Fast loading time, profile 2.0 with update, wifi, and quality of playback of Blu and dvd's upscaled.

Cons

Needs to internally decode & Bitstream DTS HD MA and Bitstream Doby TrueHD before it is the BEST player on the market, but close to it! Overall style/size compared to other players on the market.

Review

You get arguably the best Blu Ray Disc player, a media server/internet browser and great gaming system with games that are catching up with the console. I highly recomend it. PS3 60g from launch.

mugupo
  Feb 28, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

All in One, value, play game and watch blu-ray ! future proof. Great looking, work many video formal.

Cons

Can be Hot (depend on version) NO DTS or Dolby HD Bitdream,

Review

No doubt this is the best Blu-ray Player for your bucks, under 400 you get full function blu-ray player
that better than most blu-ray player outhere due to updates and lower price. Also of course PS3 other
main function is to play HD games, and even able to install OS such as Linux. Is all in one.
xwingsct
  Mar 01, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Extremely fast loading.

Cons

Can't turn the power off via remote control.

Review

I originally bought an 80GB model for my nephew and BD-S301 for myself.
I ended up selling my BD-s301 and got myself 40GB model for myself instead.
Stand alone is just way too slow from powering up to loading disc.

Loading time was like night and day between PS3 and Standalone. Plus with PS3 I'm profile 2.0 ready via firmware update when it's available.

Picture quality is identical between standalone and PS3. Soft touch power and eject button is way cool. Too bad that power can't be turned off via remote control. If there's a way could someone please show me how.

The odd looking shape of the PS3 kind of look funny sitting along the rest of my components.
Other than that I recommended highly. Hey you can play game with it if you get bored.

I will eventually get Stand alone player again when it's in final spec.
But for now PS3 is the best bang for the buck.
Get it , you won't be disappointed.

gjwanner
  Mar 08, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Streaming video, playing blu-ray movies and the kids play games. Best all around multimedia machine ever.

Cons

None I can't find anything to say

Review

Great player, wireless streaming video and audio from my MacBookPro is simple to setup and works perfectly using Nullriver server $20.00. It's absolutely the best multimedia device made, I love Blu-ray movies and i have started my collection. I could not be happier!
Hosay
  Mar 11, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Plays games, backward compatibility with PS2 games, games downloadable through the PS Network, i can surf the web, it has IM, it plays blu-ray discs beautifully, plays my regular dvd's beautifully, plays dvx, avi's, mpeg's much more.

Cons

None whatsoever, can't find anything wrong with it.

Review

I bought the 80GB PS3 bundled with MotorStorm one month ago and it was a great deal, Sony had it for US$100.00 less than the original price, it's a good thing i bought the 80GB version because my wife and I have downloaded tons of games, trailers and themes, have uploaded via USB almost our entire music collection and i still have plenty of space. I Love the PS3. :-)

Blu Falcon
  Mar 12, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Future proof BD player! Bluetooth technology, tons of customizable settings, on-line gaming, web browsing, and great for music, photos, and video as well.

Cons

Cannot bitstream Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA audio via HDMI (yet), runs hot, no PS2 backward compatibility (40gb version), no rear USB port for Sixaxis controller charging

Review

This is an almost perfect gaming console. I say "almost" because of the lack of backward compatibility with PS2 games. This I can live with since I've still got my PS2 sitting next to it in the media cabinet. Hopefully, we'll see a firmware update that will allow users to bitstream the latest and greatest audio codecs from Dolby and DTS (TrueHD and HD Master Audio). However, LPCM is great for lossless audio and movies never sounded so good. The PS3 sits in a closed cabinet in my living room, and I've got to keep the cabinet open while I'm playing movies to keep the console from overheating. It can get very hot and the fan is loud when it kicks in. When I get around to wall mounting my flat panel I'll relocate the PS3 to the top of the cabinet so that it can breathe easier. I use a Logitech Harmony One universal remote as my all-in-one solution to control all my devices. Keeping in mind that the PS3 incorporates Bluetooth technology for wireless control, the Harmony One sends out IR signals, which cannot control the PS3. However, I use the Nyko Bluwave remote solution to allow me to use my Harmony One to control the PS3's main functions. Being that the Nyko Bluwave works like any standard IR remote, you simply plug the Nyko IR dongle into the PS3's USB port, teach the Harmony remote the Nyko commands and you're good to go. It will not power on/off the unit, but this is probably the best (and very inexpensive) work-around solution there is. The only other quirk is that there is no rear or side USB port. This would've been a nice addition since it really does look silly and rather annoying to have the Sixaxis controller charging cable dangling in front of the PS3. If you're like me you'll consider picking up a Nyko two-controller charging base unit (version 2) and do away with the cord supplied with your PS3. In addition to being able to play games and watch Blu-ray titles, this device is an excellent standard DVD upscaler as well. I've used my PS3 for on-line gaming, web surfing (get yourself a Logitech PS3 keyboard if you do this often), playing music, etc. I've only got one game (CoD4) so far, but being able to play on-line makes owning only a few games worthwhile. I use this device as my Blu-ray player more than anything else. This is simply a great machine that is destined to go down in history. Keep your PS3 alive and well. Buy another one if you can afford it.
CaptainBluff
  Mar 19, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Greatest machine ever made from Sony Entertainment Blu-ray

Cons

none i don't know and no problems to me

Review

like the machine own the 60GB version play's all PS1 and PS2 games and play's PS3 games ;D...... good thing about it is play's blu ray movies and dvd it's just a great machine nottin much to say i guess ;D

kuliddar
  Dec 04, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Futureproof - Constant updates keeps your player up to date with the latest BD standards

Cons

Had to buy a remote seperatly

Review

I love my ps3. I had bought it primarily for Blu-ray but I now game on it 35% of the time.

This model is very quiet and the upgradability for of the PS3 is awesome. The upconversion is well above other players and of course, Blu-ray discs are amazing on this player. The only thing I was disapointed with a bit was the fact that it didn't come with a remote which I had to buy seperatly.

If you have an interest in gaming and also want a blu-ray player, this is the best package. In the end all you will need to decide is which version of the player you want memory wise. For me 40gb was and still is enough.

I don't regret getting the PS3 at all. It's stable, upgradable, fun and unless you abuse it, it won't break on you. One of the best tech purchases I've made. Can't recommend it enough
thanosb
  Feb 26, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Very good player with a system support via the PSN. Ease to use.

Cons

It's not so stylist as the other players, and does not support hdmi-cec. Very difficult to control via a universal remote because the luck of ir.

Review

I have the ps3 60GB version, from March 2007 in Europe. It help blue ray to win the format war.
They must upgrade throw time with clever moves and supported with new products and abilities.

g217814
  Feb 26, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Fast loading, easy to use, Great system support, also plays games!

Cons

Only one so far....Doesn't support Full DTS-HD so it defaults to 1.5MBPS. Hopefully a future software upgrade will fix that.

Review

I've had this player since July 07' and it has played everything I've thrown at it. It loads faster than
most DVD players and will also play games if you want. Great machine with lots of features and I
highly recommend it if you are in the market for a Blu-ray.
hitechiowa
  Mar 26, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Wi-Fi for updating firmware FIRST 2.0 profile player baby! Stellar picture and audio Sleek looking console that does it all!

Cons

No dts hd ma YET! it is coming so i cant really call it a con!

Review

This Playstation 3 does it all! Its not just a game console, and its not just a blu ray player. It is a multimedia center that does music, movies, pictures, internet web browser, and an online store to download demos and other great multimedia. As a blu ray player the ps3 is unbeatable! The pq and aq of this console are absolutely amazing and have no differences from the standalone counterparts. The easy HDMI connection makes for great HD gaming and great Blu ray picture. The ps3 also has and edge over standalone players in the loading time dept. The loading time is the snap of a finger and your ready to rock and roll, whereas the standalone players come in at an embarrasing 2-3 minutes on some discs that have lots of BD-J. I wouldn't trade my ps3 for a standalone player in the world, even though the ps3 doesnt have alot of killer apps for games, the blu ray player for $400 that beats out players that cost $1200 is a must have!

jaimedelacruz
  Mar 19, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

CALIDAD DE IMAGEN EN BD Y EN DVD, SE CALIENTA MUCHO MENOS QUE EL ANTERIOR MODELO DE 60 G. PRECIO (355 EUROS EN ESPAÑA EN MARZO 2008)

Cons

SIN SALIDAS MULTICAL ANALOGICAS RCA ESTEREO NI MULTICANAL

Review

Es apabullante lo que la Play3 es capaz de dar por el 23.75% del precio del indiscutible número 1 el Pioneer LX-70A. Es sin duda un producto totalmente recomendable.



  [1]   2

Post a review



Please login to post a review.



 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
2. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
3. Toy Story of Terror!
4. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
5. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
6. Y Tu Mamá También
7. Boardwalk Empire: The Complete Four...
8. Hercules
9. Tarzan
10. Leviathan
11. Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!
12. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
13. Once Upon a Time: The Complete Thir...
14. Muppets Most Wanted
15. The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. T...

Trending in Theaters
1. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
2. The Expendables 3
3. Guardians of the Galaxy
4. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
5. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
6. Muppets Most Wanted
7. Let's Be Cops
8. 300: Rise of an Empire
9. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
10. The Giver
11. Noah
12. Locke
13. Into the Storm
14. Transformers: Age of Extinction
15. Divergent

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
2.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
3.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2
4.  The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
5.  Cowboy Bebop: The Complete Series
6.  Divergent
7.  The LEGO Movie
8.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
9.  Good Will Hunting
10.  Good Morning, Vietnam
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
2.  The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
3.  Cowboy Bebop: The Complete Series
4.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
5.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
6.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
7.  Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
8.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
9.  Godzilla 3D
10.  The Fault in Our Stars
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
$24.96, Save 46%
2.  The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
$19.96, Save 45%
3.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2
$18.96, Save 54%
4.  The Walking Dead: The Complete Four...
$29.99, Save 63%
5.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
6.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
7.  Good Will Hunting
$7.50, Save 50%
8.  Y Tu Mamá También
$19.99, Save 50%
9.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
10.  Frozen
$24.96, Save 45%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!

 United States


$39.95 $19.99





Y Tu Mamá También

 United States


$39.95 $19.99





Jumanji

 United States


$19.99 $7.99





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices