COLLECT WATCH TRACK RATE REVIEW APP
Manage your own movie collection and always keep it with you with our Apps. Price track movies and get price drop notifications instantly. Become a member to take full advantage of all site features.
GET STARTED

Best Blu-ray Deals

Best Blu-ray Deals, See All the Deals »
Top deals | Price drops  
 All countries United States United Kingdom Canada Germany France Spain Italy Japan
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D (Blu-ray)
$24.96
Battle Royale (Blu-ray)
$12.99
Inside Llewyn Davis (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Source Code (Blu-ray)
$4.99
Gangs of New York (Blu-ray)
$4.99
Freezing: Anime Classics Season 1 (Blu-ray)
$22.99
Pacific Rim (Blu-ray)
$9.99
Batman: The Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$189.96
Dragonwolf (Blu-ray)
$18.20
God's Not Dead (Blu-ray)
$17.29
Leviathan (Blu-ray)
$15.89
The Legend of Billie Jean (Blu-ray)
$5.19
World War Z 3D (Blu-ray)
$12.92
To Love Ru Darkness: Complete Collection (Blu-ray)
$34.49
Ghostbusters 1 & 2 Double Pack (Blu-ray)
$19.96
Nymphomaniac: Volumes I and II (Blu-ray)
$17.99
Los Angeles Kings: 2014 Stanley Cup Champions (Blu-ray)
$20.95
Jaws (Blu-ray)
$7.99
Mr. Peabody & Sherman (Blu-ray)
$22.99


Blu-ray Players


 Search
 Compare

Top lists


 Top sellers
 Top rated
 Top owned

Firmware


 Blu-ray Firmware

Releases


 Now available
 New releases
 Coming soon
 Recently added

Community


 New reviews
 Top reviewers

By manufacturer


 Acesonic
 Amex
 Audiovox
 BluCobra
 Bush
 Cambridge Audio
 Curtis Mathes
 Daewoo
 Denon
 Desay
 DMTech
 Funai
 Goldmund
 Gowell
 Grundig
 Haier
 Harman/Kardon
 Hotwell
 Hualu
 Insignia
 Integra
 JVC
 Krell
 Lexicon
 LG
 Loewe
 Magnavox
 Marantz
 Memorex
 Microsoft
 NAD
 Olevia
 ONKYO
 OPPO
 Panasonic
 Philips
 Pioneer
 RCA
 S1Digital
 Samsung
 Sharp
 Sherwood
 Sigmatek
 Soniq
 Sony
 Sylvania
 TCL
 Toshiba
 VDiGi
 Vizio
 Vtrek
 Xoro
 Yamaha


Sony PlayStation 3 Holland



80GB Sony | Aug 06, 2007

Sony PlayStation 3 (80GB)


Regions sold
A, B

BD profile
BD-Live (2.0)

Ethernet
 Yes

Wireless
 Yes

Amazon Price
List price: €259.99 Price history
Third party: €649.99
Only from third party seller

Buy the PlayStation 3 (80GB) Blu-ray Player

Rating


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
0.0
0
ratings.



Community


75
Owners
118
Photos
59
Fans
Summary Specifications Photos (118) User reviews News Forum

User reviews (13 reviews)



dv8pdx
  Feb 27, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Smartest blu-machine yet! Most advanced updateable machine out there.

Cons

it doesn't do dishes! No really I would have to say simply the blue tooth remote. Great concept but sucks for universal remotes until they go blue tooth too

Review

One of the best option blu-ray machines on the market, with its large hard drive (add on hard drive abilities for more space) streaming media, web browser, usb and memory card interfaces, fast load times, quiet motor, this machine for the price can't be beat. And its one of the easiest blu-ray machine to upgrade to profile 2.0 with its wi-fi abilities - A sure winner in my book!

hardcorefrokid
  Jul 09, 2009
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Fast loading times, does all HD codec via PCM, and looks beautiful.

Cons

Doesn't bitstream audio and doesn't output video or audio through two things. The 80gb model doesn't play my old PS2 games.

Review

Such a great Blu-ray player! I originally had a Sony BDP-S300, and well, it did the job. I grew tired of the 2-5 minute loading times and I most of all wanted a player that can decode DTS-HD Master Audio. So I did my research and it came down to the Panasonic DMP-BD60 and the PS3. I picked the PS3.

It's wireless so I can update the firmware wireless-ly. It has a built-in web browser. Free subscription to the PlayStation Network so you game online for free! I love that it gives me, when I press select, the bitrate for the audio and video. Along with what video codec and audio codec. It decodes PCM, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD Master Audio in 5.1 or 7.1 channels. You can sync it with you PC or Mac and stream videos and music that you have stored on your computers hard drive. If not you can rip music and video to the PS3's hard drive. I have the 80gb which is enough for me. If that isn't enough you can get the 160gb model. Or save some money get an 80gb model, buy a 320gb laptop hard drive and install it! Yep you can do that! Your a fan of Linux? Well, if you are you can install it on the PS3! This player does EVERYTHING!

Buy it!
HDTV1080P
  Apr 09, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Outstanding picture performance with Blu-ray Discs with very fast load times. Will play many Playstation 1 and Playstation 2 games.

Cons

Will not bitstream DTS-HD Master audio

Review

The PS3 BLU-RAY movie and videogame player is still the best overall BLU-RAY player and it costs only $499 for the 80GB model.

Negatives of the PS3
Only major negative is for people that want the highest quality surround sound. The PS3 will not bitstream DTS-HD Master audio and this is a hardware limitation and is not upgradable view a firmware update according to the article. Perhaps internal decoding DTS-HD Master audio might be possible with a firmware update. Perhaps Sony will upgrade the physical hardware in future PS3 models to support bitstream.

Quote
“In spite of sporting an HDMI 1.3 output, the PS3 does not have the ability to output DD+ or TrueHD as native bitstreams; it converts both to multichannel PCM. My understanding is that lack of bitstream support is hardware level and will not be changed via firmware, ever.” “ “Lacks bitstream output for TrueHD and DTS-HD MA”


Positives of the PS3

Quotes
“Standard setting speed and reliability with Blu-ray playback
Outstanding pure picture performance with Blu-ray Discs
Very respectable upconverting DVD performance
Wi-Fi Internet for Web interactivity and system updates
Loaded for interactivity; meets Bonus View and BD-Live specs”

Here is the latest review on the Sony PS3 which is a first generation BLU-RAY player that can outperform all other BLU-RAY players accept in the area of advanced surround sound formats.

http://hometheatermag.com/playstation/508sonyps3/index.html

BACsader
  Dec 04, 2008
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Just about everything you can think of. Fast loading of Blu-rays, great picture quality. Great audio quality.

Cons

Lack of bitstream audio. Lack of advanced picture adjustments. Bluetooth remote.

Review

So I have had my PS3 since Christmas of last year, and I love it. It is a fast Blu-ray player as far as loading. The picture quality is very good, especially for my needs. It is also able to internally decode all HD audio codecs, internally however. Overall this is a great buy, especially if you are a gamer. If not, I would go for a standalone because their prices have dropped significantly and their loading abilities are definitely getting better.
mudixon
  Oct 22, 2009
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Very fast load times; great audio and video quality, WIFI for easy home Internet connection

Cons

no IR remote control possible without additional purchase; small hard drive

Review

By now, most has been said about the good and not-so-good regarding this PS3 model.

No bitstream? So what. That just lets your Amp show the pretty lights to indicate it is receiving Dolby, DTS, etc.

The big deal for me is how fast it loads Blu-ray movies. I've tried tons of other blu-ray players and nothing comes close, not even Sony's own line-up.

No PS2 game support? So what. Those games would look lousy on an HDTV anyway. You really can't go wrong with this model playing games and watching blu-ray.

MaCruz
  Jun 09, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

Fast to download, and you can update automatically

Cons

Load times can be excessive depending on the BD release. A little "large" for a BDP.

Review

Do you love movies? Do you love games? Well, only the PS3 provides the best of both worlds. For me I only use my PS3 for BD's, and Madden NFL Football. Other than that there's a lot of features you can do such as internet browsing, save pics, and movies.

I'm a simple guy that likes things done on it's own. Firmware update needed? My PS3 will prompt me ASAP that an update is required. As for the loading times. I'd say the loading isn't too bad. Also my system doesn't sound loud at all. Never had problems and I had my PS3 since October 2008.

So if you're looking for a video game system, and a BDP. You don't have to look far in this investment since it's at your local electronic store.
ieatedjessicalba
  Jun 12, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

The Controller as a remote is THE BEST!!! Love the analog and general setup of it. WORKS AWESOME for slowmo! Also plays Video games!!!! Always gets firmware updates.

Cons

cost maybe?? I tried to find things that sucked about it, but its just solid in what it does. Its a multi-function BD player that has internet, its got the ability to DL, meaning it has a HardDrive... its hard to say what the drawbacks are... BLUKY! Thats it, its bulky... but ehhh.. big deal.

Review

For the money, probably the best way to go. Has a lot of stuff to do online with it, concerning blugay. Powerful enough. Plays Video Games toO. For me, its Solid! It upconverts pretty well, and plays most burned/ripped media. Even if it says it doesnt, you can get around the "wont play" function with a little TRIANGLE action. I havent had any problems with it, and i noticed that IT LOADS A HELLLLL OF A LOT FASTER than most other BD players. AND that is a PLUS!! my UFC 100 fights loads in like seconds, and other players ive put it into takes minutes. And thats definately a plus for me!!

bigred7078
  Jul 15, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4.5


Pros

IMO one of the best all around Blu-Ray players since it can do pretty much EVERYTHING

Cons

well I guess a con would be that this model is no longer available and the new ones are no longer Piano Black :(

Review

I've owned it for 2 years now and it's never given me one problem. If you need an update the system will notify you automatically. It's wireless, plays games, plays CD's and SACD's and DVD's, stores digital music on the internal 80gb drive, stores photos, you can download all sorts of content. Now has netflix capability. You can set up a streaming service from your computer which is pretty cool. It now works with my universal remote (about time logitech...). Heck I can even surf the web on the PS3. I've never had ONE issue with a disk not playing.

I also like how they continue to support it and give it updates for new features ALL the time. Hey i'm just glad they finally allowed this PS3 to internally decode the HD codecs

MikeDaWiz
  Mar 21, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

Great machine! It does everything I need it to do!

Cons

Doesnt Bitstream, but that doesnt bother me much.

Review

This machine is great! I can play my PS, PS2, and PS3 games, Watch Blu Rays, Use Netflix, etc. Too bad it cant go to work or school for me. Maybe the next one. LOL

Nothing bad come to mind when i think of cons. I just love this machine.

sk33tr
  Aug 04, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

what can you say about a machine that just about does it all? upgradable software; upgradable firmware (now with 3d capability); up to 7 controllers configured for co-op play with games; wireless internet connectivity; bluetooth capability; usb inputs; nice compliment of hd audio output signals. this thing just about does everything you need it to do and more.

Cons

price point, maybe. hard drive size (wasn't really an issue when i first purchased it, now it's getting to where i need a bigger one). not a lot to complain about, really.

Review

i absolutely love the ps3. it certainly is the next-gen of gaming and hi-def movie experience. with automatic updates and wireless connectivity to the internet, you don't have to worry about running a network cable or making sure it has the latest updates. i also like how you can change the background to your choosing and and also install themes that suit your nature. it can play bd movies, games, other videos (whether on a usb drive or put directly onto the ps3 hd), audio files (mp3, etc.) and display pictures in a random order for a nice slideshow.

if i could get this thing to cut my grass, i'd have it made.

i have had to send mine in to be repaired (lucky for me i bought the 2 year extended warranty), but have had no issues since i've gotten it back. the issue was it would sorta lock-up about 45 minutes into any movie or game and then just go back to the main menu of the unit. not a huge deal if you remember to save a lot during games (which i learned to do a long time ago). but if you have a game where you can only save at a main menu (like gt5, which i play) or after you're through a "quest", then yeah, it's a big issue. with a movie you can just start from the point that it froze; but it was still a hassle to do that with every movie or game.

anyway, i got it repaired and now it's back in my hands and running like a champ.

my next ps3, after i purchase a stand-alone blu-ray player, will be the 160gb version. that will give me double the hd space for less than what i paid for my current 80gb version.

Blodiak
  Jan 05, 2013
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 4


Pros

Backward compatibility (PS2 & PSX), 2 more USB ports and SD cards inputs, power on/off button behind.

Cons

Can get really loud, no HDMI cable included, bulky size, gloss finish.

Review

This is almost the same review I did with the ''slim'' model. Some things are improved and some don't. Still the ''slim'' model is way better and a huge improvement over this model. This ''Fat'' model also have a high failure rate for the Blu-Ray laser. Mine died last year. Many also had the ''YLOD'' problem...With all the DLC of classic PSX and PS2 games I don't see the need for this console anymore. Still it's a amazing console and for those who still owns a working one keep it !

smeesmay
  Apr 28, 2011
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 5


Pros

My 80gig backwards compatible allows me to bitstream!

Cons

Bulky, gets really hot, external fans are loud

Review

I love my ps3. Just bought a couple months ago, and while for me it gets too hot for comfort for blu-ray watching, I believe the function is awesome...and mine will definately allow me to bitstream. I just choose bitstream in the audio settings of the ps3 during blu-ray playback. Maybe it was the last update that allowed this. Love it.
iontyre
  Apr 08, 2010
Vote plusVote minus Report as inappropriate
 
Rating
: 3.5


Pros

Fast loading, easy upgrading.

Cons

UGLY!!!!! No multichannel analog outputs. Upconversion below that of some standalones. BD colors not as nice as some standalones. Remote?

Review

Nice player for the gamer community, but otherwise? UHG. As in UGLY! Somebody woke up from a 40 year sleep and then designed this horrible box. Besides speed, other performance factors of this player are just OK. Very convenient upgrading. Pretty much future proof.


Post a review



Please login to post a review.



 


Get Daily Blu-ray Deals



* We do not share your email and you may opt out at any time.



Top Blu-ray Deals

 


The best Blu-ray deals online. Don't miss out on these great deals.

See Today's Deals »


 Top movies


Latest Deals United States



The latest deals on Blu-ray movies
at Amazon.

Show new deals »


Trending Blu-ray Movies
1. Noah
2. Noah
3. Twin Peaks: The Entire Mystery
4. Noah
5. The Other Woman
6. The Great Race
7. Source Code
8. Jaws
9. Stanley Kubrick: The Masterpiece Co...
10. The Legend of Billie Jean
11. Inside Llewyn Davis
12. The Lord of the Rings: The Motion P...
13. The Big Chill
14. Curtains
15. Last Action Hero

Trending in Theaters
1. Lucy
2. Noah
3. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
4. Hercules
5. Guardians of the Galaxy
6. The LEGO Movie
7. God's Not Dead
8. 300: Rise of an Empire
9. Transformers: Age of Extinction
10. Maleficent
11. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
12. The Amazing Spider-Man 2
13. X-Men: Days of Future Past
14. RoboCop
15. The Purge: Anarchy

Top 10 Sellers United States
1.  The Lord of the Rings: The Motion P...
2.  Divergent
3.  Noah
4.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
5.  The LEGO Movie
6.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
7.  Batman: The Complete Series
8.  Source Code
9.  Pacific Rim 3D
10.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
  » See more top sellers


Top 10 Pre-orders United States
1.  Divergent
2.  Game of Thrones: The Complete Fourt...
3.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
4.  Batman: The Complete Series
5.  X-Men: Days of Future Past
6.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
7.  Godzilla 3D
8.  How to Train Your Dragon 2
9.  Lucy
10.  God's Not Dead
  » See more pre-orders


Top 10 Bargains United States
1.  Divergent
$19.96, Save 50%
2.  Noah
$17.99, Save 55%
3.  The LEGO Movie
$17.96, Save 50%
4.  The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D
$24.96, Save 46%
5.  Source Code
$4.99, Save 67%
6.  Transformers: Age of Extinction
$19.99, Save 50%
7.  Frozen
$24.96, Save 45%
8.  Battle Royale
$12.99, Save 68%
9.  Pacific Rim
$9.99, Save 60%
10.  Rio 2 3D
$22.99, Save 54%
  » See more deals



Most Popular Blu-ray Movie Deals


The Amazing Spider-Man 2 3D

 United States


$45.99 $24.96





Battle Royale

 United States


$39.99 $12.99





Inside Llewyn Davis

 United States


$35.99 $9.99





Best Blu-ray Movie Deals »



This web site is not affiliated with the Blu-ray Disc Association.
All trademarks are the property of the respective trademark owners.
© 2002-2014 Blu-ray.com. All rights reserved.
Registration problems | Business/Advertising Inquiries | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices